Getting Ready For Swarm Season

Put together a swarm trap today, or finished putting it together I should say.  It’s constructed from a Sono tub I picked up at Home Depot for $11.00.  I actually cut the tube in half so I’ll be able to make one more from the tube.  As you’ll see in the pic I rigged up the ends to hold frames so should a swarm find my trap they would be easier to deal with and move into another hive.  Cornell university put out an interesting study a decade or two ago regarding capturing swarms.  Worth reading if you’re interested in giving it a try.  Get the online PDF here.

All that’s left is to slap a coat or two of paint on this and get it baited up.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Michael on June 2, 2012 at 3:16 am

    Hi gmeadevt

    Have you had any luck with your sono tube trap? I am thinking of building one myself.

    Yours
    Michael

    Reply

Leave a Reply

